ffxivarr

Square Enix is steadily pumping new content in to the world of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn. In patch 2.4, the absurdly gorgeous MMO will be adding a new class/job combo with Rogue and Ninja, as revealed in the video below.

Rogue is a new starting class that will work similarly to rogues in other RPG’s. They will focus on dual-wielding, speed, stealth, evasion and applying poisons to their weapons. Rogues will become Ninja as their job role, taking combat to a new level by complimenting their fast playstyle with various magical elements. In the trailer, you’ll see that the Ninja is able to add lightning elements to their weapon attacks, as well as using a blizzard-based spell during combat. Whether or not the Ninja’s ability to “blink tank” from Final Fantasy XI will return in XIV has yet to be confirmed, but would certainly help the overall lack of tanks in the game.

There has also been some talk about the MMO eventually porting over to the Xbox One. Square Enix‘s producer and director Naoki Yoshida describes himself as “a big Xbox player“, and would like to bring the game to the Xbox One, but that fate lies in the hands of Microsoft. In order for Final Fantasy XIV to work on Xbox One, Microsoft would have to be willing to let their player base mingle with PC and Playstation owners as well, as the MMO does not split realms between the owner’s format of choice. Each available realm is inhabited by PC, PS3 and PS4 players alike, and if Microsoft is willing to allow that, Square Enix “really wants” to bring FFXIV to Xbox owners.

Would you be interested in Final Fantasy XIV on the Xbox One? I’ve played a good amount of the PS3 and PS4 versions and can attest to their quality transition on to the home console. In my opinion, it’s currently the best MMO on the market next to World of Warcraft, and if Square Enix does end up bringing the MMO to the Xbox One, that could only be bad news for Elder Scrolls Online as the quality comparison is night and day right now.

Bio Card Brad

Bradley Keene is an aspiring writer and the Executive Editor here at What’s Your Tag?, generally handling news, reviews and a bit of our public relations communications. He’s a Baltimore native that can usually be found in an MMO, or as the only person still playing Crimson Dragon. His favorite console is the Dreamcast, favorite game is the original Metroid and he could watch The Goonies for the rest of his life. Contact him by e-mail at the address above, or follow his insanity on Twitter.

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer for cheapbossattack.com and regular podcast contributor at counterattackgames.com. I'm a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs and horror games. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

8 comments

  1. So much win! 😀 I was wondering when they’d be introducing the new classes they were hinting at. It makes me want to renew my subscription and play my archer again. Hm…

    – Britney

      1. You and I are on the same page there. But then it becomes the battle of the subscriptions for me. I can’t be having all these subscription fees. *Cough* Loot Crate *Cough*

        – Britney

      2. I already pay for Xbox Live, PSN Plus and Netflix, so I try to only have one MMO going at a time. Right now I don’t have any, since WoW’s expansion is at least 4-5 months away and I don’t know anyone still playing FFXIV. But I would much rather go back to FFXIV.

      3. I gotcha, I gotcha. I’d definitely only play FFXIV. I played WoW for about 7 years, but got tired of the repeated content and players. Once you find a good group of people in FFXIV, they’re like family. Lots of good people playing; good mature people. 😉

        – Britney

      4. I think that’s what was missing for me. I never really experienced end-game or what it was like to be in a big linkshell/free company. In my 9+ years of WoW I’ve been everything from a lowly casual to an end-game hard mode raid leader. Now WoW is just the same ol’ same ol’. I loved how FFXIV had a huuuuuuuuge narrative story that I actually wanted to pay attention to. I liked the characters and the focus, the factions, everything, but not running in to many other folks to play with made it grow stale fast. Once I do pick up an MMO again, it’ll definitely be FFXIV, but maybe on a new realm or something.

  2. I’m going to break down eventually and pick the subscription back up. Ninjas are just way too cool in FF for me not to play them. Now we just need Red Mages (could be a healer or DPS), Samurai (could potentially be another tank class), Dark Knight, and Pirate.

    1. It’s still early in the new-life era of FFXIV, so I’m almost positive that we’ll see more new classes down the line. And I’m totally with you, I love Rogues/dagger classes in RPG’s, so I fully plan on making the switch to Rogue/Ninja when 2.4 comes out.

Leave a Reply

