destiny-threegunsWhy is everybody so worried about how big it is? Hey, I’m still talking about Destiny. Bungie has had to come to their own defense recently about the size and scope of their upcoming game. Jonty Barnes, director of production, had this to say when asked about the game being called small:

“If I’m honest with you, it blew my mind, because it’s the biggest game we’ve ever made. I don’t think people understand the depth and amount of gameplay there is in Destiny. It was a big beta. So the first thing, I was like, well that was a huge beta. I don’t understand how people could have that concern when you think about that and all the different planets we’re going to open up and the gameplay we’ve got there.

“I’m not worried about it, because I honestly believe Destiny is a huge game. I can tell you that through blood and sweat as well. It’s been a huge game and undertaking for us. Compared to anything we’ve done before, if you’re going to do a comparison, you’re laughing, honestly.

“It was surprising, but part of that is, because we have all these connected spaces – we’ve got lots of locations but we drive them to be connected so we have all these collisions of people. However you divide something up, you can make a number look big or small. In people’s heads they don’t really understand what that is.”

Even before the full game is released it seems that people want to tear it down. Sure it sounds like there isn’t much there if you focus there being only one game element, be it raid, strike, or campaign, per planet but don’t forget to include the exploration and multi-player modes when sizing up the game. Also keep in mind that some of the MMO’s that are considered huge today did not start out that way upon their release. In fact, it may be argumentative to compare Destiny to an MMO in terms of size and scope.

Try and take it easy about the game and don’t give yourself any hemorrhoids worrying about it. Watch this new trailer instead.

I’ll see you on September 9th when we get out hands on the full game. Then I’ll make my judgments about it.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

8 comments

  1. There is os much ignorance against Destiny as well.
    People saying they aren’t sure what this game is…even though every trailer, and conference tellls it like it is. They just don’t get the concept Destiny brings, which isn’t a new concept just brought in a different way…its odd.
    But I think the 4million of us that played it will be the ones that prove the world wrong lol

    1. There have been plenty of games that have been released that people weren’t sure what they were about. Since it is Bungie, there are some high expectations and an over abundance of scrutiny.

      Basing the scope of the game off of the beta is a joke to me. Betas are such a small subset of a game you can’t take too much from them.

  2. The content that was available in the Beta alone was more than what some full games offer up.
    I have no doubts about Destiny delivering a great game.

  3. And yet, I’m still on the fence hah. I’m pretty positive that this game will get welcoming reviews. Sure, this could be a huge game but one factor I still don’t like is the MMO feel. Every MMO I play, I usually get bored of it pretty quick. Word is that the leveling will take a long time compared to Beta, so that’s cool but what happens after I max that out? What happens when I max the skills out? I’m not a fan of playing as every character either so I will most likely have only one.

    Unless multiplayer can be fixed, sine I heard so many balancing issues, what’s the longevity? Here is some extra planets and story you have to pay for… Thanks? I’m still not sure about this game.

    1. Bungie has already stated that the level cap will be 30 and that the progression is not as fast as it was in the beta. You’ll probably still spend plenty of time after that upgrading your skills and weapons.

      They have also stated that the multiplayer will get a lot of balances not only in game but with match making.

      Even though the game has MMO characteristics I’m still not sure it fits that mold and if it should be compared to it. I look at this game a lot less than an MMO and more as a first person shooter. People that like FPS’s seem ok with the small to tiny campaigns in CoD, Battlefield, and Halo. In that perspective, Destiny’s scope may seem huge.

      1. Tons of MMO characteristics in my opinion. You have your leveling system, “dungeons” which can be caves, big time events (like raids), a central town to do all your buying of items and such, tons of similarities.

        I don’t see this as just a FPS since there is a lot of other elements in it. I love most FPS, but only for online play. The last really fun story FPS I played was the Halo series. I never felt like the campaign was tiny either. It had TONS of replayability and I loved being called something. Technically, in Destiny, you are a nobody. You are like everyone else. I do not feel a connection to the character in Destiny, but at least in Halo, you have Master Chief. Thankfully he has a name, unlike in Destiny you are just a “Guardian.”

        I wrote about my beta experience awhile back and things still have not changed really.

      2. I can see you points about MMO characteristics. I don’t really play MMO’s and this can’t really compare them to Destiny. I also agree about the character being somewhat generic. The overall story is something that concerns me with this game.

Leave a Reply

