resident-evil-wallpaper

The 2002 Nintendo Gamecube remake of the original Resident Evil is slated to be remastered for Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS3, PS4, and PC early next year, but today we’re presented with the first trailer that showcases the game’s 1080p resolution.

If you’ve played Code Veronica X or the Devil May Cry HD Collection, you know as well as I do that Capcom doesn’t exactly have the best track record when it comes to the whole remaster thing. The trailer’s fuzzy FMV sequence doesn’t really get me excited either, but you can’t deny how delicious the lighting effects are.

Aside from the obvious visual enhancement, the game will remain largely the same, aside from the option to play in wide-screen and the addition of a more user-friendly control scheme.

What did you think of the trailer?

Bio Card Brad

Bradley Keene is the Executive Editor here at What’s Your Tag?, generally handling reviews, public relations, and our social media communications. He’s an aspiring video game journalist, Baltimore native, and on again/off again WoW player that favors roguelikes, horror games, and point-and-click adventures. His favorite console is the Dreamcast, favorite game is the original Metroid, and he could watch The Goonies for the rest of his life. Contact him by e-mail at the address above, or follow his insanity on Twitter.

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer, cat person, and horror enthusiast. I'm mostly a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs, point-and-click adventures, and survival horror. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

4 comments

    1. If the rumors are true and they’re trying to rebuild the franchise as a horror franchise, it makes sense for them to present the best version of the original for new fans of the series to see where it all started. I totally agree though, I find it hard to get excited about a re-re-re-make.

      1. Because it is a RemakeRemakeReamake, why not redo 2 or 3? The series was still a Survival Horror at that point. Redoing 1 is just lazy, and shows Capcom have run out of ideas.

        My issue is… I know I’ll buy it,

      2. 2 was the pinnacle of the series for me, so I’d like to see that one as well. I guess with the original already being remade on the Gamecube, it was an easier starting point for Capcom to just upscale it to 1080p. Since Resident Evil 2 is still just the old blocky PSone/Dreamcast version, it would require a shitload more work on Capcom’s part, and I doubt they’re interested in doing that right now.

        And yeah, I’m not that excited since I can just pop in my Wii version of the RE re-make, but I know I’ll still buy it as well =\

Leave a Reply

