destiny-threeguns

If you find that things are a bit quiet lately, this is just a friendly reminder that every single member of our staff is currently sucked in to Destiny. We’ve been waiting a long time for this moment, and I’m not sure when we’ll come up for air. Probably later today, maybe tomorrow, who knows, but if you’re playing Destiny as well, let us know!

For those of you keeping score, Miles and Anthony are rocking Destiny on the Xbox One, while Kayla, Paul, and I are riding the Sony Pony on PS4; because according to Miles, we hate America.

What console are you on? What class? Let’s talk Destiny!

Bio Card Brad

Bradley Keene is the Executive Editor here at What’s Your Tag?, generally handling reviews, public relations, and our social media communications. He’s an aspiring video game journalist, Baltimore native, and on again/off again WoW player that favors roguelikes, horror games, and point-and-click adventures. His favorite console is the Dreamcast, favorite game is the original Metroid, and he could watch The Goonies for the rest of his life. Contact him by e-mail at the address above, or follow his insanity on Twitter.

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer for cheapbossattack.com and regular podcast contributor at counterattackgames.com. I'm a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs and horror games. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

22 comments

  1. Yeah I wasn’t planning on playing Destiny because I have no next gen console, but the free upgrade to PS4 if you buy the PS3 digital version just convinced me. Waiting on the download now.

      1. So far I don’t have much of an opinion yet. I keep getting DCed within minutes of getting into the beginning levels. Anyone else having server problems on PS3 or on other systems?

      2. I actually had a ton of connection issues on PS4, and I did some Googling only to find out it’s a common occurrence. Try turning off your PS3 and then turning it back on. Someone suggested doing that for Xbox One, I tried it for PS4 and it worked just fine. Managed to play two straight hours without getting tossed off. I probably disconnected 5 times in 20 minutes prior to that.

      3. No such luck. I had turned off the system for a bit when I made my comment, and tried again after you said restarting helped. I got DCed before the unskippable intro video to the second mission was done. I’ll probably just have to try again tomorrow.

      4. Yeah, it seems my own advice didn’t work for me either. After that two hour session where everything worked fine, I just forced myself to give up after 2 hours of frequent disconnects and having to start and re-start the same mission 5 or 6 times. It’s pretty infuriating so far. I actually just made a post about it, as there are a healthy amount of players that are experiencing the same thing.

        http://whatsyourtagblog.com/2014/09/09/having-issues-staying-connected-in-destiny-youre-not-alone/

      5. I got mine working so far better by switching from wireless to a hard line. That being said I looked into it and there are a bunch of player side networking things they are suggesting could be to blame for the problems. Worth looking into if you haven’t already.

      6. Yeah, I’ve checked and rechecked, and nothing is really improving things. It just appears to be random. I even read an article saying that the Kingfisher error was from people accessing the game at the same time while using WIFI from a college dorm.. but I live at home, 40 miles from the nearest college. Soooo yeah.

      7. On a side note, I really, really wish we had the ability to skip those cut-scenes. I keep making and deleting characters to play around with class and race combinations, and having to sit through everything kinda sucks lol. That’s definitely a personal gripe, but still, the option to skip is always welcome.

      8. Yeah that’s a big complaint of mine as well. I have a bunch of minor gripes so far that just seem like things I thought games have grown past by now. Unskippable cutscenes, invisible walls (in their defense I think the door in question was intended as an entrance for enemies and nothing else, but still it baja my immersion), the shotgun not being able to stop mid reload to fire even though he loads it one shell at a time. Small stuff, but it’s stuff I expect to be addressed in most modern games.

      9. I also wish there was a way to view your character in 3D as you create them, rather than muscle through the tutorial again just to see what they really look like once you reach The Tower. I’ve deleted 3 characters because they ended up looking like shit.

      10. Speaking of character creation, I’m not sure I like the menus. I’m not sure why they went with an artificial mouse type mechanic, especially since there is no PC release. I accidentally hit finish 3 times when I was messing with colors in the character creation screen before I got a character I meant to lock in.

Leave a Reply

