silenthill2

I suppose I’ve seen the movie Scream one too many times, but with today being Halloween, I figure it’s the perfect opportunity to talk horror games. Halloween is a great time to get your friends together, pound way too much disgusting candy, and watch horror flicks–hell, I’m watching the original 1978 Halloween as I type this–, but what about the games?

What is your favorite horror game? What makes that game so special to you? Do you have any games you play or movies you watch every Halloween? Let us know in the comments!

My favorite horror game of all time is probably Silent Hill 2. It was the first survival horror game that I played for the then-new console generation on PS2, and really showed how the improved hardware could provide more detailed atmospheres to suck you in. The dense fog, the creepy abandoned environments, and that natural human fear of the unknown were all driving forces in Silent Hill 2‘s success, but the game’s iconic Pyramid Head villain and the sinister realization of who James Sunderland really was are what’s embedded in my brain so many years later.

My Halloween tradition is to (obviously) watch the original Halloween film. I’m a horror film aficionado, as that’s generally all I watch. To me, it’s not Halloween without Halloween, just like every Friday the 13th I watch as many Friday the 13th films as I can.

So let’s talk horror! Games, movies, whatever, let us know in the comments!

Bio Card Brad

Bradley Keene is the Executive Editor here at What’s Your Tag?, generally handling news, reviews, public relations, and our social media communications on Facebook and Twitter. He’s an aspiring video game journalist, Baltimore native, and on again/off again WoW player that blasphemously favors consoles over PC. He’ll always have a soft spot for Nintendo, and his favorite game is the original Metroid on NES. As a Marylander he naturally puts Old Bay on everything, loves the Orioles, reads a lot of Poe, and says “son” too much. Contact him by e-mail at the address above, or follow him on Twitter.

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer for cheapbossattack.com and regular podcast contributor at counterattackgames.com. I'm a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs and horror games. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

16 comments

      1. Some games you never finish… for all kinds of reasons.
        I never finished Dead Space myself (couldn’t take it anymore), but I did watch as the husband person did.

      2. Lol, well congrats to the “husband person”! I loved what I played, but I never got more than 2 hours in. I also own all three, which makes my avoidance even more questionable.

  1. Silent Hill has a very special place in my heart; it scared the shite out of me as a kid. Same goes for the first resident evil. However my favourite survival horror has got to be resident evil 3; it’s not the best resident evil, but its great!

  2. Ahh~ It has to be Silent Hill: Shattered Memories for me! The fact that you had to walk around familiar places but you knew there was something seriously wrong with them really freaked me out! (and hey, empty schools are always scary!) Sadly I never got to play Silent Hill 2. But the original Resident Evil wins for the scary out of the whole RE series! That zombie dog corridor…

    1. Zombie dogs jumping through the window scared the crap out of me when the game first came out! Shattered Memories, I just played for the first time 2 years ago and loved it. So intense!

  3. I’m late to the party here, but I would have to say there have been a couple of games that meet the scary criteria. For me, the biggest one was probably Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube. Why? Because it did the scares by using atmosphere. If you break down a lot of horror themed games, the scares are essentially “Jump scares” which are less scares, and more startles. Eternal Darkness did more cerebral scares. Trolling you by having your head fall off, only to respawn you three previous rooms away, or turning the screen to white noise static. Or scariest of all, pretending to reformat your memory card.

    1. Oh gosh! I loved Eternal Darkness! How could I forget it! I shat myself when the phone rang and you heard your Grandfather’s voice on the other end! XD I agree, the atmosphere was everything in that game!

  4. Probably Silent Hill 2. But Silent Hill 3 messed with me so much also… Eternal Darkness was such a great game as well!! Those are probably my top 3. Silent Hill 3’s scene leading up to the final boss fight is probably the most messed up thing I’ve ever seen in a video game, and I’ll never forget it.

Leave a Reply

