mordor6

We’re still working on our Game of the Year post here at What’s Your Tag?, but with tomorrow being the last official day of 2014, we wanted to know what games you really enjoyed this year. Don’t be shy!

In no particular order, I really enjoyed Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor, World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor, Wolfenstein: The New Order, inFAMOUS: Second Son, Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, Hyrule Warriors, Mario Kart 8, Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze, MLB 14: The Show, Diablo 3: Ultimate Evil Edition, and I’m currently in sweet, sweet love with Far Cry 4; at least in terms of bigger releases. Oh, and let’s not forget the game that wasn’t really a full game, P.T., as I’m pretty sure I’m still washing urine out of my pants to this day.

I’m usually against remasters, but The Last of Us Remastered and Halo: The Master Chief Collection both did really well with me this year. I know a lot of folks have had issues with MCC, but I’ve only played local co-op through the campaigns, so its horrendous online issues didn’t affect me at all.

On the smaller digital side of things, D4: Dark Dreams Don’t Die on Xbox One was probably my favorite. I’m an adventure game junkie, and I absolutely loved its batshit crazy dialogue, stylish characters, and compelling story. I need season 2. Now. I also really enjoyed Super TIME Force, Shovel Knight, So Many Me, Magnetic By Nature, Reagan Gorbachev, Whispering Willows, and TowerFall: Ascension, although most of those are also indies available on PC. And yes, some of those are OUYA games. I love my OUYA. PC indie exclusives that I dug were along the lines of A Story About My UncleQuest for Infamy, The Last Door, Lifeless Planet, They Breathe, Goat Simulator, that sort of thing. And at least from a streaming perspective, I loved watching Miles die repeatedly in Volgarr the Viking and 1001 Spikes.

Early Access was a huge topic for us this year as well, and I feel it’s important to acknowledge the developers who are doing a great job with it. I played a fair amount of Early Access games in 2014, mostly for review purposes, but I had a blast with Crypt of the NecroDancer, Black Ice, Crawl, and Tango Fiesta. Hopefully we’ll all be playing full releases of those games soon.

I know this was a pretty long list, but thanks to writing for this website I’ve had the opportunity to play more games in 2014 than I could keep track of. There were also plenty of games that I never got around to playing, like Dragon Age: Inquisition, Super Smash Bros., Bayonetta 2, and I didn’t get to do much with Sunset Overdrive, but that’s what the Summer Drought is for, right?

So how about you? What were your favorite games this year? Make your reply as long or as short as you’d like down in the comments!

Bio Card Brad

Bradley Keene is the Executive Editor here at What’s Your Tag?, generally handling news, reviews, public relations, and our social media communications on Facebook and Twitter. He’s an aspiring video game journalist, Baltimore native, and an on again/off again WoW player that blasphemously favors consoles over PC. As a Marylander, he naturally puts Old Bay on everything, loves the Orioles, drives aggressively, and says “son” too much. Contact him by e-mail at the address above, or follow him on Twitter.

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer, cat person, and horror enthusiast. I'm mostly a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs, point-and-click adventures, and survival horror. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

15 comments

  1. My short list of 2014 games this year is (in no particular order):

    Super Mario 3D Land/World
    Bayonetta 1/2
    Pokemon OR/Y
    Mario Kart 8
    Super Smash Bros 3DS/Wii U
    Shovel Knight

    and

    Binding of Isaac Rebrith

    ….Why yes, this WAS the year I finally caved in and bought a Wii U and 3DS. How did you know?

  2. Really enjoying Pokémon Alpha Sapphire at the moment. But I kind of missed out on a lot of the big releases this year…
    I did enjoy the Professor Layton/Phoenix Wright crossover earlier in the year as well…

    …I should play more games…

      1. Yeah, I was pretty busy doing other things next year.

        I’ve got a plan for next year though.

        The crossover title was definitely the easiest and a pretty good way to experience both games’ gamestyle (If you have a 3DS, that is).

  3. Man this is so tough every year. Especially since I don’t get to buy it all. I’d probably have to say Nintendo, and Platinum nailed it for me this year though. Mario Kart 8 is a super fun iteration, that dialed back the rubberband AI a little, and introduced the Godsend that is the horn. Super Smash Bros. 4 is a blast so far (I am a little late to the party with it). Bayonetta 2 was excellent. I know a lot of stuff came out for a multitude of platforms, and every year there is a bunch of buzz. But I think a special mention should go out to the guys behind Deadcore. They made a rather good platform puzzler that was challenging right up to the infuriatingly hard last stage. If you haven’t checked it out, and enjoyed things like Portal, give it a spin. It isn’t perfect mind you, but it’s certainly interesting, and fun.

    1. Deadcore sounds really neat, actually, I’ll have to give it a shot. Nintendo did put out a lot of incredible games this year, and hopefully that’s enough to show people that the Wii U is a truly “next gen” console.

    1. I’ve heard a lot of great stuff about Jazzpunk, so that’s on my list. South Park is another that I wish I had played, but I have so much in my backlog right now that I’d only pick it up under $20. Looks great though. Betrayer is the first-person black and white (and red for blood) slashy kinda game, right?

Leave a Reply

