metprimetril

The Metroid Prime Trilogy is a series of genre-defining games for a series that defined a genre. Weird sentence is weird, I know, but Metroid Prime 3: Corruption was the game that made me feel okay with Nintendo’s motion controls on the Wii. So much so, in fact, that I found it difficult to go back and play the first two games without a Wiimote.

Nintendo eventually answered my prayers, releasing Metroid Prime Trilogy for the Wii and fixing what I had now deemed broken. Here we are in 2015 though, and if you’re interested in picking up a copy of the game, you can expect to pay around $86. That is, until today.

The Big N has been releasing Wii titles as digital downloads through the Wii U’s Virtual Console for just $19.99. What’s more, if you pick up a newly released game during its first week, you get a 50% discount.

Metroid Prime Trilogy is available now for a fraction of what you’d pay for a physical copy. $10 is an absolute steal for three of the best Metroid games in existence, and you can snag the discount any time between now and February 5th. Your body is, indeed, ready.

Have you queued up your download yet?

Bio Card Brad

Bradley Keene is the Executive Editor here at What’s Your Tag?, generally handling reviews, public relations, and our social media communications on Facebook and Twitter. He’s an aspiring video game journalist, Baltimore native, and an aficionado of bizarre indie games. If it’s weird and pixely, he’ll like it. If he’s not writing, he can usually be found glued to his OUYA and Xbox One, or knee-deep in an MMO. Get in touch with him by e-mail at the address above, or follow him on Twitter.

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer, cat person, and horror enthusiast. I'm mostly a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs, point-and-click adventures, and survival horror. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

5 comments

  1. Surprisingly the Australian pricing isn’t crazy. $13 (compared to the exchange rate where $10 USD is $12.86 AUD).

    I’m going to pick this up – I missed all the good wii games, and I missed the Super Mario Galaxy 2 sale by a few days. I’ve picked up Donkey Kong Country Returns though, and I’m going to get this soon.

    1. Oh yeah, you guys and gals got DKC Returns instead of Punch-Out!!, right?

      Prime Trilogy is ridiculously expensive here in the states, and I’m not really sure why. DKC Returns is so damn good though.

      1. I just got that one, it’s a little hard, but I think I’m going to enjoy it. It looks like great platforming.

        Yeah, we got DKCR instead of Punch-Out!!. I think that we get that one later though, along with some other Wii games.

        I think the Prime Trilogy is expensive everywhere. It’s definitely expensive over here as well, but I hadn’t looked for it previously. I just knew that it would be outside of my budget.

        Xenoblade is facing the same dilemma. It’s really expensive on the Wii, but for some reason they’re porting it to the NN3DS instead of the Wii U. I hope they either release it digitally on Wii U, or do a Bayonetta-style bundle with the sequel. I don’t think that’s going to happen because of the NN3DS port though.

Leave a Reply

