life-is-strange-02_1920

It’s Tuesday–or at least it is here on the east coast–which can only mean one thing: Monday is over. Well, two things, since it’s also time for another Xbox Deals With Gold and Spotlight Sale.

This week’s Deals With Gold offers 20-50% off of the brilliantly crafted episodic adventure series Life is Strange. Developer DONTNOD impressed me with their writing early on, featuring various choices with severe, long-term consequences that play out through each of the game’s subsequent episodes.

Life is Strange is easily one of my favorite games of 2015, and you can give the first episode a try this week for only $2.50. If you’re even remotely interested though, I’d just go with the Complete Season.

  • Life is Strange: Episode 1 – $2.50
  • Life is Strange Season Pass (Ep. 2-5) – $13.59
  • Life is Strange Complete Season (Ep. 1-5) – $15.99
  • Rory McIllroy PGA Tour – $40.19

The Spotlight Sale this week primarily focuses on ID@Xbox indies, but there’s a few odds and ends tucked away; like Call of Duty: Ghosts and Killer Instinct.

  • Badland: Game of the Year Edition – $6.00
  • Call of Duty: Ghosts – Gold Edition – $30.00
  • The Escapists – $11.99
  • Killer Instinct: Complete Collection – $59.99
  • LA Cops – $7.50
  • Oddworld: New n’ Tasty – $13.39
  • Roundabout – $7.50
  • Stealth Inc. 2: A Game of Clones – $7.50
  • Stick it to the Man – $3.30
  • The Swapper – $10.04
  • Toro – $13.39
  • Ultratron – $5.00
  • Ziggurat – $7.50

So what’s worth picking up, and what should you avoid like the plague? Badland: GOTY is a lot of fun in a chaotic sort of way. If you like campy b-movies, I highly recommend Roundabout as well. I’ve had some good fun with The Escapists lately–in preparation for The Walking Dead cross-over–but its punishing difficulty isn’t for everyone.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, LA Cops is easily one of the worst games I’ve ever played, and I’m sure Ryan would say the same about Toro.

Picking anything up?

Written by CheapBossAttack

Freelance games writer for cheapbossattack.com and regular podcast contributor at counterattackgames.com. I'm a sewer-dwelling console heathen with a passion for RPGs and horror games. Follow me on Twitter @cheapbossattack.

4 comments

  1. Ahhh I just bought Life is Strange a couple weeks ago! Not that it was all that expensive in the first place. I highly recommend it! It made me bawl like a baby and I’m not even done with the 4th episode yet T.T

    1. The same thing happened to me *right* before the summer sale. I sold my copy of Destiny and picked up Ori and the Blind Forest and Goat Simulator. The very next day they both went on sale.

      Life is Strange is EXCELLENT and episode 4 is easily the best yet. Once you’ve finished it, let me know what you think! (keep it spoiler free for everyone else, of course)

  2. I’ve been curious about Badlands for a while, but I might just get that on my Wii U. Everything else doesn’t really interest me in the slightest.

    Killer Instinct is without a doubt the best game I’ve played on Xbox.

    1. I really enjoyed Badland GOTY, and it’s a great showing of how to properly bring a mobile game to consoles. The controls were fully re-worked, and they’ve added two diverse 4-player local co-op modes. The graphics are gorgeous too.

Leave a Reply

