Destiny-Featured1

Rough, unpolished, but great to play — that is how I would sum up the Destiny Early Access Alpha on PS4. It was with a near giggle that I loaded up my copy of the alpha and saw the Bungie logo on my screen. As a player whose main platform is the PlayStation, Bungie has been a strong absence on my console of choice and this was but the first step in completely changing that.

destiny-alpha-dudeSince the beta will be available next month, I don’t want to go on about everything that was in the alpha. I’d rather you get to explore and experience Destiny for the first time much as I did, without prejudice or expectation. Especially since there is a good chance that the beta will show little more than what was available in the alpha, but what a treat this was.

destiny-alpha-000Following the script isn’t always my path when it comes to special treats like this. Sure I went and did the mission that loads up after you create your character. However, the Halo player in me immediately thought ‘how do I get there?‘ as I looked into the distance at far away buildings and mountains. It became a personal mission at one point to see how far I could go before this world ended and it came to me as a surprise how far it let me go before turning me back.

destiny-alpha-sittingAs much as I loved the action and gun fights, I enjoyed finding the peaceful and beautiful places as well. We can argue about resolutions and frame rates but if the artistry isn’t there then the point is moot. Something I can’t show you and that you’ll have to experience for yourself are the sounds of the game. You can go out and watch gameplay video all you want but having your hands on the controller as you take yourself through a darkened hallway and hear the water dripping as your footsteps echo is something you’ll have to experience and not just see.

destiny-alpha-inactionOn July 17th when the beta comes, I hope that you get a chance to play and feel the same wonderment I had in the alpha. I’ll be there again even if the beta doesn’t offer much more than the alpha. It will still be of interest to me what they smooth out or change en route to the final release of a game that I am highly anticipating.

Remember though, that we play games to have fun and this game is going to be no exception.

There will never be enough shenanigans for me.

Author Line

dudewantshisrugPaul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

