It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! What Are You Playing?

personaq2

The latter portion of this year has been pretty stacked with big game releases. Halo 5: Guardians, Call of Duty: Black Ops III, Fallout 4, Rise of the Tomb Raider, and now Star Wars: Battlefront are competing for our time (along with whatever else we’re preoccupied with).

Now that the weekend is upon us, what’s on your plate?

I’m still plugging away at Toukiden: Kiwami on PS4, closing in on the 20 hour mark. I’ve hit my stride as a bow player, but I’ve only managed to unlock one of the three best-in-slot mitama for an all out elemental SPT build. In English, it’s a build that focuses on shredding off Oni limbs and using bows with elemental attack bonuses. Good stuff!

I also started Persona Q on 3DS a few days ago and I’m digging it a lot. Especially the map drawing mechanic. I’m a big Persona/SMT fan, but I’ve never played Etrain Odyssey before. Persona Q merges the characters and combat of Persona 3 and 4 with the dungeon crawling, map drawing, and punishing difficulty of the Etrain series.

There’s just something oddly satisfying about drawing my own detailed map on the bottom screen. I’m not sure if it’s enough for me to give Etrain a try, but I’m all over it in Persona Q.

The battle music is also pretty rad.

I’ve been trying to finish off Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition on Xbox One whenever I remember it’s on my hard drive. I’m so close to the end (I’ve beaten the reboot already on PS3) and I just want it done and over with so I can (A) uninstall it, and (B) refresh my memory before jumping in to Rise of the Tomb Raider after Christmas.

My girlfriend is currently obsessed with Yo-Kai Watch on 3DS, but lately when we game together we’ve been murdering our way through Until Dawn. We also started Tearaway Unfolded, which is really cool. I never played the original Vita version, but I like what they’ve done in its transition to the Playstation’s DualShock 4 controller.

Making our own patches and stickers to decorate our messenger has been fun.

slayerheadband

So what’s up with you this weekend? Any big gaming plans?

5 comments

  1. Persona Q (and Persona in general) has an excellent soundtrack. Good luck in tackling the horrors of Until Dawn. I am tackling an interactive story of my own in the form of Games of Thrones.

    1. I’ve only played the first episode of Game of Thrones (since it’s free). It’s the only Telltale series I haven’t really shown interest in since I’ve never read any of the books/seen the show. I should probably fix that.

      Oh, I’m *trying* to kill everyone in Until Dawn. Much more fun lol. Plus I want that trophy.

      1. I haven’t watched the Game of Thrones TV show either. Then again I haven’t read The Walking Dead or Wolf Among Us comics and still enjoyed the Telltale games.

        Game of Thrones is weaker than Borderlands, TWD and Wolf Among Us, but I still enjoying it. I have played three episodes thus far and it gets a bit better as it goes along.

      2. Tales from the Borderlands is only $10 during the Black Friday sale on Xbox, so I may have to pick that up. Love Borderlands, but there’s so much to play right now.

Leave a comment